NHTSA investigates Tesla's Actually Smart Summon over crash reports
NHTSA is investigating Tesla's Actually Smart Summon remote parking feature following reports of 16 crash incidents across approximately 2.6 million vehicles. The camera-only system reportedly failed to recognize obstacles, leading to collisions with other vehicles, signs, and walls, though no injuries have been reported.
What happened
NHTSA launched an investigation into Tesla's 'Actually Smart Summon' remote parking feature after receiving reports of 16 crash incidents involving approximately 2.6 million vehicles from model years 2016-2025 Model S and X, 2017-2025 Model 3, and 2020-2025 Model Y vehicles.
NHTSA stated it has received one formal complaint and is reviewing media reports of three additional incidents. The agency is concerned with 'multiple crash allegations, involving both Smart Summon and Actually Smart Summon, where the user had too little reaction time to avoid a crash, either with the available line of sight or releasing the phone app button.'
Reported impact
Videos on YouTube and social media platforms show the feature causing damage to other vehicles, parking signs, and walls. NHTSA has not reported any injuries from the incidents.
Index analysis
The feature uses a camera-only system, following Tesla's removal of radar and ultrasonic sensors. Tesla had previously deployed a limited 'Smart Summon' version that generated 12 separate customer complaints to NHTSA before the upgraded version was reintroduced.
Tesla had not reported any of the crashes through NHTSA's standing general order requiring manufacturers to report crashes involving automated driving systems.
Governance controls
NHTSA plans to investigate the top speed of the vehicles using Actually Smart Summon, operating restrictions for public roads, and line-of-sight requirements.
Classification
Sources and evidence
This record was researched and written by the Index, based on the following original reporting.